After Everything

Sassi Pekka

The film shows a dystopian world where brutality and inhumanity are commonplace and part of everyday routine. The atmosphere of doom is emphasized by the combination of black and white footage, harsh settings and industrial noise music. The powerful story leads to a situation in which brutality is victorious, yet beyond total destruction there is also room for a new beginning.

Production Year
Original Title
After Everything
Finnish Title

Kaiken jälkeen

English Title

After Everything

Production Countries
Pekka Sassi (Author), Jussi Eerola (Cinematographer), Pekka Sassi (Composer), Pekka Sassi (Director), Heikki Kotsalo (Editor), Ilppo Pohjola (Producer), Pekka Sassi (Script), Marja-Leena Hukkanen (Still Photography), Jorma Uotinen (Actor), Juho Rantonen (Actor), Juuso Timonen (Actor), Tuula Nikkola (Assistant Director), Jyrki Sahla (Boom Operator), Mika Ailasmäki (Camera Assistant), Juho Rantonen (Cast), Ilari Nummi (Casting), Emmi Hukkanen (Catering), Marko Terävä (Color Grading), Tiina Paavilainen (Costume Design), Yleisradio Oy (Funder), Koneen säätiö (Funder), Suomen elokuvasäätiö (Funder), Impakt Foundation (Funder), Kristallisilmä Oy (Funder), AVEK (Funder), Tomi Lakonen (Gaffer), Ake Arminen (Grip), Leila Mäkynen (Make-Up), Katri Saukonpää (Production Manager), Mari Ljokkoi (Runner), Tiina Paavilainen (Set Designer), Peter Nordström (Sound Design), Pekka Karjalainen (Sound Recording), Ari Arvola (Special effects), Sakari Raappana (Visual Effects)

Pekka Sassi

Born: 1969

Pekka Sassi (b. 1969) is a Helsinki-based artist whose output consists of experimental sound and video works, many of which are purely sound pieces and audio installations. Sassi’s works are characterised by creative integration of simple, and sometimes random, audial and visual worlds detected in the surrounding world. He is a wide-ranging, yet uncompromising artist. His works have been presented at several domestic and foreign festivals and he was awarded the annual AVEK Prize for audio-visual art in 2006 and the Best film in European Media Art Festival, Osnabrücke 2010.

67 works