More Info Works / Birds


Three women, the artist and her sisters, sit on a sofa and recite lines from Anton Checkhov’s play Three Sisters. The theme of the play is the longing for freedom. The tension of being filmed and and the examination of one’s presence through words can be seen in their reading. Slow-motion images of flying birds are cut into the sequence to give a moment of relief from the ‘tormenting’ filming situation. The references to Alfred Hitchcock’s film The Birds are a comment on our common consciousness, which develops through popular films and culture.

More information and preview material on this work from our staff.

English title / Birds
Original title / Birds
Type / Single channel
Genre / Political commentary, Experimental
Country / Finland
Picture ratio / 4:3
Duration / 00:04:04
Language / Finnish
Sound format / Stereo
Year / 2004
Credits / Marika Orenius (Author), Marika Orenius (Director), Erik Harald (Camera), Jesper Toss (Camera), Marika Orenius (Camera), Erik Harald (Sound)
Copyright © 2017 AV-Arkki